Good Day (Japanese Version) translation

Kay so I kinda got addicted to this song, then I found the Japanese version (WHICH I CAN UNDERSTAND AND SING YAY~), and realized no one translated it (anyway I don’t suppose many would wanna listen to the Japanese version anyway since they would probably like the Korean version more BUT I DID IT ANYWAY)

Song title: Good Day (Japanese Version)
Performed by: IU
Lyrics: Kim Ea Na & Minakata Emi
Composition & Arrangement: Lee Min Su
Single: Good Day (Japanese Version) (2012)

Good Day (Japanese Version)
Performed by: IU
作詞: 김이나 & Minakata Emi
作曲&編曲: 이민수
Good Day (Japanese Version) (translation)
Performed by: IU
Lyrics: Kim Ea Na & Minakata Emi
Composition & Arrangement: Lee Min Su

青空で 涙 乾かして
悲しみ 風で吹き飛ばして
強がりのflow 知ってるでしょ?
ふいにそっとキスをしたら大胆?
夢見るだけ いつでも


泣かせないで こんな日に
振り向いてもくれないの?
その瞳に映ってるのは
今日の晴れた空だけなの?
私の願い それはどうすれば叶うの?
聞いて、オッパガ ずっと あのね…

まだ子供だって思ってるの?
妹みたいに思ってる?
もうありえない で、わかっていない
あきれかえるくらいの鈍感!
気付いて欲しい 今すぐ

泣かせたいの? こんな日に
振り向いてもくれないね
その瞳に残ってるのは
今日の晴れた空だけなの?
本当の気持ち それはどうすれば届くの?
聞いて、オッパガ ずっと えっとね…

ねぇ聴こえる? 風の歌が始まるよ
隠してた胸の痛み こみあげてくるよ

こぼれ落ちる涙なら
上を向いてごまかして
願い事を知っているのは
今日の晴れた空だけなの?
何度も胸の奥にしまってた言葉
「ナヌンヨ オッパガ チョウンゴル」(あ痛っ、せーの)
I’m in my dream
(It’s too beautiful, beautiful day
Make it a good day
Just don’t make me cry)

でも言えないの

Drying my tears with the blue sky
Expelling my sorrow with the wind
You know what happens when I put up a strong front, don’t you?
Am I being bold if I suddenly kissed you softly?
I’m always just dreaming


Don’t make me cry on a day like this
Won’t you even turn around for me?
Are today’s clear skies the only thing
Reflected in those eyes?
My wish—what can I do to grant it?
Listen, Oppa*, I’ve always, you know…

Are you thinking I’m still a kid?
Do you think of me as a little sister?
I don’t understand, with an “It’s not possible anymore”
It’s shockingly insensitive!
Please realize that right now

Do you want to make me cry? On a day like this
You won’t even turn around
Are today’s clear skies the only thing
Left in those eyes?
My true feelings—what can I do to express them?
Listen, Oppa, I’ve always, um…

Hey, can you hear? The wind’s song is starting
The hidden pain in my heart is accumulating

If it’s falling tears
I hide them by looking up
Are today’s clear skies the only thing
That know what I wish for?
Words that I have shut in my heart many times
“About the fact that I like you” (Ah it hurts, ready, set)
I’m in my dream
(It’s too beautiful, beautiful day
Make it a good day
Just don’t make me cry)

But I can’t say it

Good Day (Japanese Version) (romanji lyrics)
Performed by: IU
Lyrics: Kim Ea Na & Minakata Emi
Composition & Arrangement: Lee Min Su

Aozora de namida kawakashite
Kanashimi kaze de fukitobashite
Tsuyogari no flow shitteru desho?
Fui ni sotto kiss wo shitara daitan?
Yumemiru dake itsu demo

Nakasenai de konna hi ni
Furimuitemo kurenai no?
Sono hitomi ni utsutteru nowa
Kyou no hareta sora dake na no?
Watashi no negai sore wa dou sureba kanau no?
Kiite, oppaga zutto ano ne…

Mada kodomo datte omotteru no?
Imouto mitai ni omotteru?
Mou arienai de, wakatteinai
Akirekaeru kurai no donkan!
Kizuite hoshii ima sugu

Nakasetai no? Konna hi ni
Furimuitemo kurenai ne
Sono hitomi ni nokotteru nowa
Kyou no hareta sora dake na no?
Hontou no kimochi sore wa dou sureba todoku no?
Kiite, oppaga zutto etto ne…

Nee kikoeru? Kaze no uta ga hajimaru yo
Kakushiteta mune no itami komiagetekuru yo
Koboreochiru namida nara
Ue wo muite gomakashite
Negaigoto wo shitteiru nowa
Kyou no hareta sora dake na no?
Nando mo mune no oku ni shimatteta kotoba
“Naneun yo oppaga joheun geol” (A ita, seeno)
I’m in my dream
(It’s too beautiful, beautiful day
Make it a good day
Just don’t make me cry)

Demo ienai no

Credits:
Kanji lyrics: http://www.kasi-time.com/item-60273.html
Korean line romanji: http://kakakcashier.blogspot.com/2010/12/iu-good-day.html
Korean line explanation: http://detail.chiebukuro.yahoo.co.jp/qa/question_detail/q1284533667


You’ll have to turn up the volume. Anyway notes:
1) Because I don’t know Korean (but I’m planning on learning) I can’t translate that last line in quotes. So I took some Japanese person’s interpretation of it in Japanese and translated that instead. The romanji I also took off someone’s romanization. WITH PROPER CREDIT! Edit on 6 June: I went to learn Korean, so there’s updates to the translation. So I retranslated that line, because I realized it actually means that. In the original Korean it was “Na neun yo, oppa ga joheun geol/oddeohge” – “what should I do about the fact that I like you”. Since this line is now reduced to without the oddeohge, it’s sort of incomplete.
2) “Oppa” is supposed to mean something like “you” in reference to an older/higher man (in the case of a girl), like a senior, or husband or boyfriend or something like that. It’s Korean. And
 “ga” after “oppa” is actually a subject marker (like “ga” in Japanese), which can’t be translated into English, but just know that she feels something towards the “oppa”.

Now, virtual cookies for those who can do the 3 long high-notes at the end😄 *nom nom*

 

Well, I really wonder who will look for this anyway… Haha

2 thoughts on “Good Day (Japanese Version) translation

  1. I know this is posted a year ago, but I just want to say I was actually looking for these lyrics ^o^ Or well, I stumbled upon them to be more accurate. It’s just so funny to see an IU song between all the Tokusatsu songs here, I usually come here for the JAM translations. Normally I do prefer the K-version, but IU did such a good job with the J-version as well, I like them both. Keep up the good work!

    1. Hahahahaha!! I know what you mean😄 It’s actually coz most of the Jam songs are requested, but I did this on my own accord ^^ I’m glad you liked it~

Leave a Reply

